Find your dream home - 250-862-0750


Speculation/Vacancy Tax

March 5, 2021

BC’s Speculation and Vacancy Tax

 Just a friendly reminder, all residential property owners in the taxable regions must complete a declaration, even if you’re eligible for an exemption. Also, everyone on Title is to complete a declaration.   Must be done by March 31st.

Here is a list of the designated taxable regions:

  • Municipalities within the Capital Regional District. This excludes Salt Spring Island, Juan de Fuca Electoral Area, and the Southern Gulf Islands
  • Municipalities within the Metro Vancouver Regional District, excluding Bowen Island, the Village of Lions Bay and Electoral Area A, but including UBC and the University Endowment Lands
  • The City of Abbotsford
  • The District of Mission
  • The City of Chilliwack
  • The City of Kelowna
  • The City of West Kelowna
  • The City of Nanaimo
  • The District of Lantzville